Accessibility Options Printer friendly Email us Contact us

Nobel Peace Prize winners, 10/10/14 [S]

Commenting on the award of the Nobel Peace Prize for 2014 to Kailash Satyarthi and Malala Yousafzai, Minister for External Affairs and International Development Humza Yousaf said:

“Today’s announcement that the Nobel Peace Prize is jointly awarded to Malala Yousafzai and Indian Kailash Satyarthi is a fitting testament to both their work making a difference to the lives and rights of young people across the world.

“In particular, Malala’s achievement of becoming the youngest winner of the Nobel peace prize is remarkable and richly deserved. In an age of extremism it is very fitting that a young girl who has stood up so bravely against violent extremists is awarded this prize.

For full details see the Scottish Government news release.

Further Information

Nobel Peace Prize winners